Oatmeal: The Story

New-QuakerLogo_4cp_Med_Jan-2012
Does this look like the face of mercy?

“Breakfast is the most important meal of the day!”

Probably everyone I knew would always have the same idea.

Here I was, sitting alone in the dining table with the usual bland oatmeal I have been forcibly feeding myself for years. My parents already left for work, while my sister was probably dead asleep on her room after reading books all night. Eating alone may be lonely for others, but for me it was an essential routine where I can contemplate about life and stuff.

IĀ  toyed with the bowl using my spoon, not in the mood for oatmeal. If breakfast is the most important meal of the day, why feed us something so bland? I though.

After thinking about it, I could only come up with one answer.

“This means that those who say that breakfast line while feeding us oatmeal are hypocrites whose lives are bland.”

I nodded at my superior opinion.

“What’s this, what’s this? My brother giving baseless opinions this early in the morning?”

I cringed at that voice. Looking behind, it was my 13 year-old sister all dressed up. If her jeans and tacky shirt were an indication, she was probably going to hang out with her friends.

“Why are you ruining my already ruined breakfast, Maddie?” I asked scornfully. She disregarded my question completely and sat besides me.

“So, what are you angry about this morning again?” she asked with curiosity while filling her bowl with oatmeal.

Thinking that it wouldn’t hurt to tell her, I told her just what was the dilemma all about.

“You know that saying ‘Breakfast is the most important meal of the day’, right?”

“Of course. And?”

“Well, why say that and feed us bland oatmeal each morning? Do they want us to have that bland of a morning?”

“Hmm, you do raise a valid point there, dear brother.” She nodded understandingly. Her head went straight to the clouds as she tried to come up with something. “Why do people do that indeed.”

“I know, right?”

I continued force feeding myself with oatmeal, while Maddie mindlessly stuck a spoonful without even flinching. After a few moments of silence, she suddenly snapped her fingers.

“I get what they’re trying to say to us!” she pronounced proudly.

I gave her a skeptic look. “Oh, don’t tell me you’re gonna give another long-winded speech about the connection of how deep the earth is and our breakfast.”

“I could get to that on another time, but listen to this first!” She coughed as if to gather the attention of everyone in the room, which consisted of me alone. “You see, as soon as we wake up, we have oatmeal served on the table. But how about the breakfasts of people from other places? Some prepare their own, some have others prepare it for them. Some have extravagant meals served, while others oatmeal so bad even I wouldn’t eat it. With these facts present, what could we relate breakfast with?”

No, not that smug smile again! She always does that before getting to the main point.

“Why, life itself, of course!”

I blinked. Twice. “I never knew oatmeal would have such an effect to my dear sister. I think mother has a psychologist friend, maybe we can contact him?”

“Laugh all you want brother, but let’s see your face after I explain it to you.” She composed herself once more. “Looking at it more closely, life really is unfair. Sometimes your born lucky, gifted with talent and a bright future. Sometimes you really have to start with hardships, or in breakfast terms, you get oatmeal. And no matter how we complain about it, all we can do is to eat it, else we die from hunger. So what do we do when we get oatmeal, complain our hearts out?”

“Um, Maddie, aren’t you going to be late for–”

“No! We make it more beautiful! The oatmeal is bland? Sprinkle it with sugar and let the milk flow! Give it taste! Shower the spices, bring on the condiments, fill it with deserts! Despite all the hardships in our lives, as long as we sprinkle it with optimism and shower it with hope, surely it would give us more power to overcome it! If you think about it, those people who say that breakfast quote is actually telling us to do our best in overcoming the hardships that we face! Genius, if I do say so myself.”

I blinked. Four times this time. “So how does this relate to why mother feeds us oatmeal every morning?”

“She’s trying to tell you to stop your computer addiction and start sprinkling it with fun things?”

That’s my sister, over thinking everything as always.

“Whatever, better hurry up or you’ll make your friends wait.”

“Crap! Gotta go brother thanks for the discussion!” she said as she quickly finished her oatmeal and raced to the door. Leaving the houseĀ  with her signature door slamming, I was once again left in peace.

This was my usual breakfast in this household, with Maddie’s speeches usually being an important part of it.

Before I finished the final spoon of oatmeal, I smiled mischievously at my next words.

“Now then, what if I blog about this on the net…”


 

Written because I had a bad breakfast. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Oatmeal: The Story

Leave a Reply

