Reunion: The Story

Auto_Other_auto_wallpapers_Travel_by_car_014350_
Road Trips: Happy Fun Times Guarateed

Summer breeze that blows to my face

A warm blanket lovingly given by the sun

Off we go travelling to a distant place

To a field of sunflowers found memories long gone.

 

“So, what can you say about my poem, brother dear? A masterpiece at the least, right?”

“More like a piece of cloth at the most.”

If there was one thing I hated more than my sister’s constant bugging, it would no doubt be the enemy of a computer addict like me: Family vacations. The unholy combination of both going outside and cheesy family bonding was technically poison to my antisocial blood, and I would never consider going along if it wasn’t for the fact that my parents threatened to cut off my internet connection.

“Now now, you two. Stop arguing with each other and enjoy the beautiful scenery,” my mother interrupted our petty little squabble.

We were currently riding a car to our cousin’s place, located at the boondocks with nothing but sunflower fields. Our father was busy driving the car, occasionally glancing at his gigantic map, while mother was by his side enjoying the passing mountains, trees and other rural elements one could find. My younger sister Maddie and I were placed at the back, and being stuck together for hours guaranteed a fight of words.

“Gah, a day without the internet? This surely is the worst day in the history of humankind!” I exaggerated to express just how frustrated I felt.

“Are you kidding?” Maddie said with excitement. “This should be the best day in the history of humankind! I mean, we’re going to meet Rea again, right? Oh, it’s been a year since we last met. I can just imagine it, a happy and tearful reunion that would go beyond words!”

So that’s why she was so enthusiastic about visiting. Rea was our 9-year-old cousin, and Maddie was supposed to have met her a year ago on the last visit. I was exempt at going that time thanks to a cold, but last time I tried faking it, mother dragged me back at my feet and cut off the internet for a month.

“But really, I can’t see the importance of these tearful reunions,” I said while toying with my flip phone. “Sure, you didn’t meet for a year or so, but didn’t the two parties live their own lives without the other? They should be just nostalgic at most.”

“You’re just saying that because you never felt it, brother.”

“Whatever,” I replied nonchalantly. I was so bored that I tried arguing for the sake of arguing, but it seemed like a ridiculous attempt.

Maddie became deep in thought, trying to think just how important reunions are. Of course reunions were supposed to be a deep topic, so it should be easy for her to give another one of her speeches.

“Thinking about it, aren’t reunions just two kids meeting each other? Since everyone gets separated at one point, either for a second or a year, then isn’t everyone experiencing reunions every day, with the only difference the time separated? But isn’t time relative, so which means time isn’t a reliable factor in determining reunions? And another point, doesn’t time heal the wounds of separation, so which means reunions are simply for nostalgic purposes? Then doesn’t that mean that it’s just as important as oatmeal for breakfast?”

That caught me off guard. “Hey hey hey, sister. You’re supposed to make it deep, not think about it negatively, which should be MY job.”

“But I’m SO bored! I can’t think up of anything, and it’s easier to complain about something rather than think up a solution! Why don’t you think up of something deep?”

“Me?” Me? Complaining and simplifying are my strong points, so this was somewhat unreasonable. But hey, boredom could break a person in more ways than one.

“Let’s see,” I started, trying to think up a good argument. “Um, reunions aren’t there for the sake of the people involved. It’s, uh, yeah, there for the sake of the connection once made. Humans are sympathetic creatures, and once a connection is made, it can never be broken, uh, only either be bent or weaken. But make no doubt; the connection is there, and will always be there until the day we disappear from their memories. Now, let’s see, reunions simply strengthen the bond, makes it better that it was, and makes it brand new. This, in turn, makes anyone happy, I guess, and could end with tears because, you know, people cry when they are happy.”

She blinked. Twice.

“Well said, brother dear. Except that last statement of yours, of course.”

“What’s wrong with it? Don’t people cry when they are happy?”

She could do nothing but sigh. “At the very least, that was some good discussion we had there. Isn’t it fun to reverse our roles every now and then?”

“No,” I flatly replied. “I can’t simply comprehend just why would anyone even make something deep?”

Maddie gave me her signature smug smile. “Of course, to appreciate the finer things in life.”

“And here we are stuck at the back of a car for hours.”

“Oh I know, why don’t we sing a song?” What in the world was she suggesting now?

“Oh no we don–“

Before I could finish my statement, a shrill voice echoed throughout the whole car. “AH! BAA BAA BLACK SHEEP HAVE YOU ANY WOOL? YES SIR YES SIR THREE BAGS FULL.”

This was simply just another segment of our long travel stuck in a car.

But what we didn’t know is what waited for us at the end of our journey…


 

I really hate travelling. Well, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

