From the Top: The Story

9972689972692

It was a sunny day, with the flowers blooming and the birds singing. A generic introduction for a story, as one may say, but an introduction nevertheless.

My mornings were usually dull: Stretch a bit, wash my face, go to the dining room to eat the blandest oatmeal you’ll ever find, then back to my room to stare at the computer all day. Lather, rinse, repeat. Not that I’m complaning though. As far as I’m concerned, once you repeat a routine every single day of your life, it gets to the point where you won’t even feel anything. Scary, but such was a fate that we can never fight.

I washed my face, then declared myself prepared for the day. I left my room, leaving for the dining room a flight of stairs away.

I sat on a seat, filling my bowl with oatmeal. I could imagine myself having a bored look, staring wistfully at the horizon (In my case, a corner of the room).

I heared footsteps going down the stairs, and was greeted a bright and cheerful smile from no other than my 13-year-old sister, Maddie. She would usually talk with me during breakfast, about things only she understood fully. It did not matter to me, for this was all part of my daily routine.

Unchanging.

“I’ve been thinking, brother dear”, she said, her usual opening for our conversations, “Aren’t you getting bored of the usual routine we have? Wake up, oatmeal, talk, then whatever we do every day. Kind of makes you want to have something different happening, right?”

So she had the same idea going on in her head. As for why she would contemplate such a thing, no one will ever know.

“Isn’t this fine?” I said, placing a spoonful of oatmeal in my mouth. “With this, we don’t have to bother with anything.”

“But if this goes on, our lives will go stale!” exclaimed my little sister. “School is still far away, and I can’t stand doing the same thing over and over again! We could, I don’t know, go on mountain climbing, or rather, river rafting!”

“That’s only for people who aren’t contented with their lives. I’m fine with this lifestyle, since the internet always brings me new joys every day,” I lied. Yes, the internet may be vast, but it was still a boring routine to read everything every single day. New content every day, but all limited to the computer screen.

My vision suddenly blurred. Oh yeah, I forgot to add something in my routine list: Wake up. It was hard to sleep when the internet call for you, and that would result into countless sleepless nights, with my deep eyebugs a proof of it. Was pushing my body to the limit finally taking its toll on me? I hope not. There was still a lot of things to do, and so little time left.

“Brother, hey brother! Brother! Are you okay!?”

The last thing I heard was my sister’s constant calling, annoying till the end.

And the world went black.

It was a sunny day, with the flowers blooming and the birds singing. A generic introduction for a story, as one may say, but an introduction nevertheless.

Wait, didn’t I already use that introduction before? Well, who cares, everything was just a routine anyways. I prepared myself, ready to eat my bland oatmeal breakfast. Wash my face a bit, then head down the dining room.

“What in the world?”

I couldn’t believe my eyes. My younger sister was right in front of me, eating her fill of oatmeal. Now I know it may not sound that big of a deal, but for me it was. It was a know fact in the household that I always arrived at breakfast first, and now Maddie was intent on breaking the natural order.

“Hey Maddie, is the world going to end today? Why are you down here before me?”

“I don’t know, I just felt like breaking the boring and endless routine,” she answered readily. Why? Was she bored of the endless loop of time named summer vacations in the house? Her feelings should have been numbed down after experiencing this endless times, so it seemed like she still had a bit of a fighting spirit.

“Give up and face your fate,” I adviced her. I took the seat opposite of her’s, and filled my bowl with delicious mouth-watering oatmeal.

“I’ve been thinking, brother dear”, she said, her usual opening for our conversations, “Aren’t you getting bored of the usual routine we have? Wake up, oatmeal, talk, then whatever we do every day. Kind of makes you want to have something different happening, right?”

I sighed. “You waking up earlier before me is enough of a change in pace. Anyways, the only people who say that are the ones who aren’t contented with their current lives.”

“But doesn’t life need a change of pace?,” said my sister, unwilling to drop the subject. “People rely on new interactions every day, else our lives would grow stale and empty. If we want to advance into people better that before, then a change of pace in necessary, right?”

I stuck a spoonful of oatmeal into my mouth. After talking it all in one gulp, I gave my answer. “Of course you’re right, but that’s only when you want to improve themselves. As for people who are contented with what they have, then changing the pace would simply just be a waste of time.” The question was, was I contented with my current lifestyle? If my sister were to ask, I would immediately answer yes, but what I feared was that I may have just lied.

My vision suddenly blurred. Wait, this already happened before, hasn’t it? Is this what they call Déjà vu? It didn’t matter, I’ll probably forget this the next time I wake up.

And the world went black.

It was a sunny day, with the flowers blooming and the birds singing. A generic introduction for a story, as one may say, but an introduction nevertheless.

Wash my face, then go down to the dining room. Such was my morning routine. Something at the back of my mind told me that my sister would be there ahead of me, but that was something I would never believe. I mean, it was a known fact that I always arrived the dining room first.

“No way.”

Yes way, as not only my sister was there, seated in the table, but also was warm steaming soup, coupled with freshly baked bread. A cup of coffee was also placed on the table, making me feel nauseous.

“Good morning, brother dear!” Maddie cheerfully greeted me, adding the pain. She never greeted my in the morning, not even once.

“I-Is the world ending today?” I stuttered, thinking that it was the only plausible explanation for such a rebellion of the daily routine.

“No it’s not. Though I must say, brother dear, people really poorly react once their routine is broken.”

What was she spouting now? “Of course! People with routines are content with their lives, s-so–”

“That’s not always the case, you know,” my sister interrupted. “Some people, despite how contented they seem to be, wants to break free from their own routines. Why? Because many wishes for a brighter future, a future better than where they are. So of course one way to achieve that is to break free from the chains of repeating actions. But sadly, there are some who doesn’t have such a chance, each with their own reasons. Do you get what I’m saying, brother dear?”

I remember. I finally remember. Yes, I experienced this day for, if I’m not mistaken, three times. Why was I repeating this time? I have no idea. I think Maddie was blurting another one of her speeches during our talk, but I would care less. How can I break free from this time loop? Maybe I should try to–

My vision suddenly blurred.  Oh no. Not again.

And the world went black.

It was a sunny day, with the flowers blooming and the birds singing. A generic introduction for a story, as one may say, but an introduction nevertheless.

But no, I remembered. I remembered it all. The time loop. Yes, I was trapped in a loop of time.

I hurriedly washed my face, and raced for the dining room. Going for the stairs, I accidentally slipped on a step. This was what happens when you run around the house. I should’ve listened to mother.

And the world went black.

It was a sunny day, with the flowers blooming and the birds singing. A generic introduction for a story, as one may say, but an introdu–

My vision suddenly blurred.

“AT LEAST LET ME FINISH MY INTRODUCTION SPEECH!” I shouted at the top of my lungs, complaining to whoever deviced such a prank.

On another world…

Maddie stared at her brother’s sleeping face, buried within his bowl of oatmeal. They were talking about just how boring the routine was, when suddenly her brother fell asleep. He must’ve stayed up all night again.

The younger sister continued with her bowl of oatmeal, thankful for yet another delicious breakfast, when her brother started mumbling something in his sleep.

“at least let me finish my introductory speech…”

Maddie chuckled. Her brother was sometimes such a funny guy.


 

From today’s prompt. Sure do love time loops.

Leave a Reply

